Introducing the 2018 BSSw Fellows

We are pleased to announce the inaugural class of Better Scientific Software (BSSw) Fellows: four Fellows and four Honorable Mentions.

Published February 5, 2018

Author David Bernholdt, Mike Heroux, and Lois Curfman McInnes

The inaugural class of BSSw Fellows will be recognized during the Exascale Computing Project 2nd Annual Meeting, February 6-9, 2018, in Knoxville, TN. Thanks to all fellowship applicants. The broad range of creative and interesting proposals made the selection process difficult.

The BSSw Fellowship Program gives recognition and funding to leaders and advocates of high-quality scientific software. Each Fellow will receive up to $10,000 for an activity that promotes better scientific software, such as organizing a workshop, preparing a tutorial, or creating content to engage the scientific software community.

2018 BSSw Fellows


Jeffrey Carver

University of Alabama, Professor, Computer Science

BSSw Focus: Contemporary peer code review in scientific software development


Ivo Jimenez

University of California Santa Cruz, Ph.D. candidate, Computer Science

BSSw focus: generation of computational experimentation pipelines that are easy to re-execute and validate


Daniel S. Katz

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Research Associate Professor, Computer Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and the School of Information Sciences
National Center for Supercomputing Applications, Assistant Director for Scientific Software and Applications

BSSw focus: techniques for making scientific software more sustainable by providing credit to its developers via software citation


Andrew Lumsdaine

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Fellow, Advanced Computing, Mathematics, and Data Division
University of Washington, Affiliate Professor, Computer Science
Northwest Institute for Advanced Computing, Chief Scientist

BSSw focus: practices for high-performance and high-quality scientific software in modern C++

2018 BSSw Honorable Mentions


Neal Davis

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Teaching Assistant Professor, Computer Science


Elsa Gonsiorowski

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, HPC I/O Specialist, Livermore Computing


Marc Henry de Frahan

National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Postdoctoral Researcher


Ying Li

Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne Scholar, Argonne Leadership Computing Facility


About the BSSw Fellowship

As described in a prior blog article, the main goal of the BSSw Fellowship program is to foster and promote practices, processes, and tools to improve developer productivity and software sustainability of scientific codes. BSSw Fellows are selected annually based on an application process that includes the proposal of an activity that promotes better scientific software. Subscribe to the BSSw email digest for notification about next year’s call for applications, which will be announced in fall 2018.

Stay tuned for more from the 2018 BSSw Fellows.