Meet Our Fellows

The BSSw Fellowship program gives recognition and funding to leaders and advocates of high-quality scientific software. Meet the Fellows and Honorable Mentions and learn more about how they impact Better Scientific Software.

2024 Class


David Bunten

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Software gardening almanac: Cultivating sustainable software development in the generative era

Dorota Jarecka

MIT McGovern Institute for Brain Research

Best practices for reproducibility and testing in scientific software

Olivia Newton

University of Central Florida

Team learning in scientific software projects

Ken Raffenetti

Argonne National Laboratory

Guidelines for improving MPI performance

Ryan Richard

Ames National Laboratory

Sustainable scientific software through multi-project CI/CD

Leah Wasser


Essential collaboration skills for contributing to open source software

Honorable Mentions

Antigoni Georgiadou

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Computational Scientist, National Center of Computational Sciences

Jack Marquez

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Research Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Drew Paine

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

User Experience Researcher, Scientific Data Division

Noam Ross


Principal Scientist, Computational Research

Matthew Scarpino

Purdue University

Lead Research Software Engineer, Rosen Center for Advanced Computing

Aristana Scourtas

Globus Labs, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory

Project Manager and Research Software Engineer

2023 Class


Nicole Brewer

Arizona State University

Improving accessibility of data and software with scientific web apps

Myra Cohen

Iowa State University

Techniques for scientific software testing

Johannes Doerfert

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Demystifying the compiler black box

William Hart

Sandia National Laboratories

Best practices for software supply chain security

Helen Kershaw

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Improving code review skills for scientific software developers

Rafael Mudafort

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Effective communication of software design

Honorable Mentions

Jean Luca Bez

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Scientific Data Division, Postdoctoral Researcher

Jose Monsalve Diaz

Argonne National Laboratory

Postdoctoral Researcher, Mathematics & Computer Science Division

Xu Liu

North Carolina State University

Associate Professor, Computer Science

Alisa Neeman

Muskingum University

Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science

Kristina Riemer

University of Arizona

Scientific Programmer, Data Science Institute

Brigitta Sipőcz

California Institute of Technology

Applications Developer

2022 Class


Ritu Arora

Wayne State University and Ventra Tech Inc.

Optimizing I/O for better performance

Rob Latham

Argonne National Laboratory

I/O sleuthing: a tour of I/O challenges and solutions

Julia Stewart Lowndes

National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS), UC Santa Barbara

Openscapes: Open data science for research teams

Amiya K. Maji

Purdue University

Simplifying scientific Python package management

Nitin Sukhija

Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Secure scientific software development

Karan Vahi

USC Information Sciences Institute

Scientific workflows for high efficiency HPC

Honorable Mentions

Sarah Bratt

Syracuse University

Ph.D. Student, School of Information Studies

William Godoy

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Computer Scientist

Brittany Johnson-Matthews

George Mason University

Assistant Professor, Computer Science Department

Max Jones

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Earth Sciences, School of Ocean & Earth Science & Technology

Rafael Mudafort

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Research Software Engineer, National Wind Technology Center

Qiusheng Wu

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

2021 Class


Marisol García-Reyes

Farallon Institute

Increasing accessibility of data & cloud technologies

Mary Ann Leung

Sustainable Horizons Institute

Increasing developer productivity and innovation through diversity

Chase Million

Million Concepts

Project management best practices for research software

Amy Roberts

University of Colorado Denver

Enabling collaboration through version control user stories

Honorable Mentions

Keith Beattie

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Computational Research Division, Computer Systems Engineer

Julia Stewart Lowndes

National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS), UC Santa Barbara

Openscapes Director

Jonathan Madsen

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

NERSC, Application Performance Specialist

Addi Malviya Thakur

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Software Engineering Group, Group Leader

2020 Class


Nasir Eisty

University of Alabama

Automating testing in scientific software

Damian Rouson

Sustainable Horizons Institute, Sourcery Institute

Introducing agile scientific software development to underrepresented groups

Cindy Rubio-González

University of California, Davis

Improving the reliability and performance of numerical software

Honorable Mentions

David Boehme

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Research Staff, Center for Applied Scientific Computing

Sumana Harihareswara

Changeset Consulting

Founder and Principal, Open source software management and collaboration

David Rogers

National Center for Computational Sciences, Oak Ridge National Lab

Computational Scientist

2019 Class


Rene Gassmoeller

University of California, Davis

Guiding your scientific software project from inception to long-term sustaintability

Ignacio Laguna

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Improving the reliability of scientific applications by analyzing and debugging floating-point software

Tanu Malik

DePaul University

Reducing technical debt in scientific software through reproducible containers

Kyle Niemeyer

Oregon State University

Educating scientists on best practices for developing research software

Honorable Mentions

Stephen Andrews

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Staff Scientist, XCP-8: Verification and Analysis

Nasir Eisty

University of Alabama

Ph.D. Student, Computer Science

Benjamin Pritchard

Virginia Tech

Software Scientist, Molecular Sciences Software Institute

Vanessa Sochat

Stanford University

Research Software Engineer, Stanford Research Computing Center

2018 Class


Jeffrey Carver

University of Alabama

Improving code quality through modern peer code review

Ivo Jimenez

University of California, Santa Cruz

Enabling reproducible research through automated computational experimentation

Daniel S. Katz

National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Giving software developers long-overdue credit through principles for software citation

Andrew Lumsdaine

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, University of Washington, Northwest Institute for Advanced Computing

Guiding efficient use of modern C++ for high-performance computing

Honorable Mentions

Neal Davis

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Teaching Assistant Professor, Computer Science

Marc Henry de Frahan

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Postdoctoral Researcher

Elsa Gonsiorowski

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

HPC I/O Specialist, Livermore Computing

Ying Li

Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne Scholar, Argonne Leadership Computing Facility

The BSSw Fellowship is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and National Science Foundation.